Monday Blog 5/5/15….a Tuesday Blog!

I’ve been in the throes of finals so its late.  Still it’s here and I’m pretty thrilled to say that.  Much has been happening in the last week so I feel compelled to share it with the world even if it’s a day late.

I made an announcement last week that we are parting ways with C.A. Hircus Entertainment.  It was an idea that Hal and I had for quite some time but apparently its been decided that it is confusing to people at cons so we are just promoting me as me.  I’m not sure how I feel about this and I am a little terrified but we do have to move forward  It doesn’t mean that C.A. Hircus is dead just must make the world think that its dead until it can control the beast inside it.

Truthfully, I don’t know where I’m going with this anymore.  I spend a great deal of my time in terror while walking down this path.  I don’t know if this is what I should be doing or if I’m doing it right.  I don’t deny I don’t have a great support network with Hal and our hound dog and my editor and the like but sometimes I feel truly alone.  I don’t even know if that’s right.  There is something isolating about this and I know its been a solitary life from the start.  I just….I don’t know.

I hope everyone had a wonderful May the Forth which combines puns and Star wars which makes me smile.   Hal and I celebrated by going to go see Age of Ultron which I’ve been waiting for quite some time for.  I’m not quite sure what the anger is with the lines and the thematic of monsters.  I suppose that it is the fact that her super crowded introduction when it came to Banner and herself involved making him a Cosmo and flirting  I don’t think this is sexist but seems to be a classic Weadon move.    The problem with female super heroes might not be within Ultron and not really the fault of Weadon himself.  Weadon has a way of pointing out things in a smple and classic way that seems profoundly entertaining but it’s there.  The odd Mad Men-esque scene pointing out that we still don’t understand how women should work in super hero movies or maybe we are attempting to point out that you can kick ass and still hold on to feminine ideals.  the most troubling to me is assuming that infertility is meant to be that of a monstrous state.  For those of you who have never struggled with infertility and what it means then shut up. There is a horrible liberation that comes with knowing you won’t bee siring another generation.  I choose to do this because I cannot trust my own genetics but it doesn’t mean i don’t regret being able to control some aspects of my life.  Its the same joyous freedom.  You don’t know what kind of black she’s done because of this.  Still I thought it was a pretty solid movie.  I do believe that we need some better Black Widow Stuff and seriously…Gamora should join the Disney Princess Pantheon.

Next Week….con prep.  We have new shinys to sell.

NNext week con prep…again.

Leave a Reply

